"The Crew"

"The Crew" is a group of poker-playing professionals and friends which has included Scott Fischman, Dutch Boyd, David Smyth, Joe Bartholdi Jr., Tony Lazar, and Brett Jungblut

Dutch Boyd founded the Crew just after the 2003 World Series of Poker. Bartholdi had met Dutch Boyd at the 2002 World Series of Poker and, in 2004, Boyd recruited Scott Fischman. Boyd staked part of his winnings to establish a group bankroll and to cover the rent on the headquarters he set up in California. After assembling players to join the group, he claimed that The Crew was going to take over the poker world.

Most of the members of The Crew learned to play poker online, and that's where they spent most of their time improving their game. They played all day for months at a time, while also teaching each other and debating hand histories and strategy.

The Crew was one of the biggest stories at the 2004 World Series of Poker. They received a lot of face time with the ESPN cameras. But The Crew also proved that they had real talent when they won three tournaments and close to $1 million.

The Crew seemed to have gradually flamed out. Some of the members reportedly had a falling out due to Dutch's erratic behavior, while others, Jungblut and Bartholdi, officially left the group. Although it was generally recognized that The Crew broke up around 2004-2005 and the members admitted that they no longer share a bankroll or live together. In 2006, Dutch Boyd announced on his blog that he had plans to get The Crew back together for a reality show centered around their lives, but nothing came of it.


Log in to post comments
or Register

forget 'the crew', they're history for the longest time, how about the CALIFORNIA CREW? now THOSE guys can play some real cards! Unabomber, the Magician, Gabriel Thaler, etc - forget about it!

bartoncarton on December 19, 2006

the crew is dead long live the old school crew (ivey,juanda,cunningham,and negreanu )

Unregistered on August 23, 2005

I heard that he was kicked out of the "Crew" because he was losing all of their money...is this true??

Hodge Podge on May 24, 2005

Really, crew boys. Get some females in your "Crew" maybe hire a hooker, I don't care, but you do come off looking like you all smoke the Baloney Pony. Dominate the World? More like dominate each other's Browneyes. Check out, [url]www.thecrewisgay.com[/url]

Not a member of the Crew on March 21, 2005

We already knew you were a loser Dutch. I always hated the crew just because of you. Now I'm a huge fan of Brett because he saw the light and got away from a DIRTY CROOK

Matt on March 1, 2005

bullshit, his crew look like a bunch of fucking dweebs, bring it on

flush80 on December 16, 2004

does the crew have a website?

sk. on October 22, 2004

The Crew is a thing of the past, after a large amount of inner strife, mostly caused by large egos the big names of the crew are going there seperate ways.
The D Squad is a group of up and coming young professionals that has everyone on their toes. The d squad includes Gavin Griffin, Dustin Sitar, Raja Kattumuri, Brian Fosbury, and Derek Opitz. Look for these guys on TV

Unregistered on October 16, 2004

Can you feel the love in this room?? The crew are just trying to promote the game and bring in the young generation into the game. God bless them all and their little cotton socks.

hmmmmmmm on October 6, 2004

I LOVE The Crew, especially Dutch. Is there a website for The Crew?

I Love The Crew on July 23, 2004

The Crew Rules ----->> Boo Yah

RoLLy on July 20, 2004

Hey dutch, your "Crew" looks softer than a fat girl's titties.

mantis fight wagerer on July 20, 2004

Famous Players

Alan Goehring
Alex Brenes
Allen Cunningham
Amarillo Slim
Amir Vahedi
An Tran
Andy Black
Andy Bloch
Annie Duke
Antonio Esfandiari
Barbara Enright
Barny Boatman
Barry Greenstein
Berry Johnston
Bobby Baldwin
Brad Daugherty
Carlos Mortensen
Chad Brown
Chip Jett
Chip Reese
Chris "Jesus" Ferguson
Chris Bigler
Chris Karagulleyan
Chris Moneymaker
Christer Johansson
Clonie Gowen
Crandell Addington
Cyndi Violette
Dan Harrington
Daniel Negreanu
Dave "Devilfish" Ulliot
David Benyamine
David Chiu
David Colclough
David Grey
David Pham
David Plastik
David Williams
Dewey Tomko
Doyle Brunson
Dutch Boyd
Eric Brenes
Eric Froehlich
Erica Schoenberg
Erick Lindgren
Erik Seidel
Eskimo Clark
Evelyn Ng
Farzad Bonyadi
Garry Bush
Gavin Smith
Greg Raymer
Gus Hansen
Harry Demetriou
Hasan Habib
Hon Le
Howard Lederer
Hoyt Corkins
Huck Seed
Humberto Brenes
Isabelle Mercier
Jason Lester
JC Tran
Jeff Madsen
Jeff Shulman
Jennifer Harman
Jesper HougaardNEW
Joe Awada
Joe Bartholdi
Joe Beevers
Joe Cada
John Bonetti
John Cernuto
John D'Agostino
John Hennigan
John Juanda
John Myung
John Phan
Johnny Chan
Jose Rosenkrantz
Joseph Hachem
Josh Arieh
Juha Helppi
Julian Gardner
Kassem "Freddy" Deeb
Kathy Liebert
Kenna James
Kirill Gerasimov
Layne Flack
Lee Watkinson
Liz Lieu
Marcel Luske
Marco Traniello
Mark Seif
Martin de Knijff
Matt Matros
Maureen Feduniak
Mel Judah
Men Nguyen
Michael Mizrachi
Mike Matusow
Mimi Tran
Oklahoma Johnny Hale
Patrik Antonius
Paul Darden
Paul Magriel
Paul Maxfield
Paul Phillips
Perry Friedman
Peter Costa
Phil Gordon
Phil Hellmuth
Phil Ivey
Phil Laak
Ram Vaswani
Robert Varkonyi
Robert Williamson
Ron Rose
Ross Boatman
Russ Hamilton
Russell Rosenblum
Sam Grizzle
Sammy Farha
Scott Fischman
Scotty Nguyen
Stan Goldstein
Steve Dannenmann
Stu Ungar
T.J. Cloutier
Ted Forrest
Thomas Keller
Thor Hansen
Tiffany Michelle
Tim Phan
Todd Brunson
Tony D
Tony G
Tony Ma
Vanessa Rousso
Young Phan

Poker Personalities

Brandi Hawbaker
Mike Sexton
Norman Chad
Shana Hiatt
Vince Van Patten
Wild Bill Hickok

Business & Industry

Anurag Dikshit
Barry Shulman
Benny Binion
Calvin Ayre
Lyle Berman
Matt Savage
Ruth Parasol
Vikrant Bhargava

Poker Groups

Hendon Mob
Team Bodog
Team FullTilt
Team PartyPoker
Team PokerStars
The Crew

Online Players

Brian Townsend


Andy Beal
Ben Affleck
Cindy Margolis
Gabe Kaplan
James Woods
Jennifer Tilly
Jerry Buss
Mimi Rogers
Norm MacDonald
Shannon Elizabeth
Tobey Maguire
Wil Wheaton

Poker Authors

Andy Glazer
David Sklansky
James McManus
Lee Jones
Lou Krieger
Mike Caro
Rolf Slotboom
Tom McEvoy
Vince Burgio

WPT Amateurs

Harley Hall
James Tippin
Randy Jensen

Fictional Players

Cincinnati Kid
Mike McDermott