Go Back   HomePokerGames Poker Forum > FORUMS > General Talk

Notices

Old 07-17-05, 12:52 AM

Adjusting to worse players?

Since I started playing poker about 9 months ago I have learned as much as I could about it. Read a bunch fo books, watched videos, etc. My problem is, none of the kids I play with have done any of that. Nearly all of the people I play with on a regular basis (in home games a few times a week) have no conception of odds, reading people, and still think poker is all luck. They are mostly loose-agressive maniacs, where as I try and play a tight-agressive style. I feel I'm not maximizing my winnings because I'm trying to play too much of an advanced game. An example - I overbet the pot knowing a kid was on a draw, and he called me. After the hand I asked why he called, knowing he wasn't getting pot odds on it. He replied "I don't know about these pot odds, but I just felt I would make the flush". Should I loosen up more and see more flops? Push harder with middle pair instead of waiting around for top pair with a huge kicker? I hate raising preflop with good hands (like K Q or whatever) because everyone with J6, Q3, A6, will call me every time if the raise is less than 5x the big blind. We usually do tourneys with 10$ in chips, blinds .25 and .50, so I can't really afford to raise it 2.50$ preflop with a legit hand and get 3 or 4 callers with rags, and call their pair of 4's all the way. I've given up bluffing on them because they call me anyways - not thinking I'm bluffing, just thinking their 6's or whatever are the best hand. Does anyone have a tutorial or book that focuses on dealing with loose-agressives?
Old 07-17-05, 01:21 AM
Nel167

Weak players