Anurag Dikshit


Anurag Dikshit (pronounced "Dixit") is an Indian businessman and one of the co-founders of PartyGaming, primarily responsible for developing the gambling software. With a current fortune estimated to be $1 billion, he is the richest man in Gibraltar, one of the youngest billionaires in the world, and recently was named 35th on the list of the richest Indians in the world.

Born in 1977 in Sindri, Jharkhand, Dikshit graduated with a Bachelor of Technology degree in Computer Science and Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology in Delhi in 1994. After graduation, he worked in technology jobs in several US businesses - including, a software developer, a systems analyst, and a consultant for AT&T.


When Dikshit was 25 years old, he met entrepreneur Ruth Parasol, founder of PartyGaming, who asked him to write some proprietary code for PartyGaming's Starluck online casino to replace the software they were licensing from another company. His skills were so important to the future of PartyGaming, that Parasol allocated him 32% of the shares in the company.

In 2000, Dikshit hired a colleague from his alma mater, Vikrant Bhargava, to head the company's Caribbean operations. Party Poker was launched in August 2001, just prior to the huge growth in online poker.

When the company was later floated on the stock exchange, Dikshit was turned into a billionaire overnight. Prior to the company's IPO, Dikshit was virtually unknown to the general public.

In May 2006, Dikshit stepped down from PartyGaming's board of directors in order to develop new products as head of the company's research. He continued to own approximately 10% of the company's shares.

In December 2008, Dikshit pled guilty to illegal Internet gambling and agreed to cooperate with the U.S. Justice Department in an investigation of PartyGaming. Dikshit entered a plea to one count of online gambling in violation of the Federal Wire Act and agreed to forfeit $300 million. He reportedly sold his remaining stake in PartyGaming (38.8M shares) for 105m (approximately $170M USD) and will donate the money to his charitable organization, the Kusuma Trust.

Dikshit currently resides in Gibraltar.


Log in to post comments
or Register

Anurag Dikshit

HPG ADMIN on February 27, 2013

Famous Players

Alan Goehring
Alex Brenes
Allen Cunningham
Amarillo Slim
Amir Vahedi
An Tran
Andy Black
Andy Bloch
Annie Duke
Antonio Esfandiari
Barbara Enright
Barny Boatman
Barry Greenstein
Berry Johnston
Bobby Baldwin
Brad Daugherty
Carlos Mortensen
Chad Brown
Chip Jett
Chip Reese
Chris "Jesus" Ferguson
Chris Bigler
Chris Karagulleyan
Chris Moneymaker
Christer Johansson
Clonie Gowen
Crandell Addington
Cyndi Violette
Dan Harrington
Daniel Negreanu
Dave "Devilfish" Ulliot
David Benyamine
David Chiu
David Colclough
David Grey
David Pham
David Plastik
David Williams
Dewey Tomko
Doyle Brunson
Dutch Boyd
Eric Brenes
Eric Froehlich
Erica Schoenberg
Erick Lindgren
Erik Seidel
Eskimo Clark
Evelyn Ng
Farzad Bonyadi
Garry Bush
Gavin Smith
Greg Raymer
Gus Hansen
Harry Demetriou
Hasan Habib
Hon Le
Howard Lederer
Hoyt Corkins
Huck Seed
Humberto Brenes
Isabelle Mercier
Jason Lester
JC Tran
Jeff Madsen
Jeff Shulman
Jennifer Harman
Jesper HougaardNEW
Joe Awada
Joe Bartholdi
Joe Beevers
Joe Cada
John Bonetti
John Cernuto
John D'Agostino
John Hennigan
John Juanda
John Myung
John Phan
Johnny Chan
Jose Rosenkrantz
Joseph Hachem
Josh Arieh
Juha Helppi
Julian Gardner
Kassem "Freddy" Deeb
Kathy Liebert
Kenna James
Kirill Gerasimov
Layne Flack
Lee Watkinson
Liz Lieu
Marcel Luske
Marco Traniello
Mark Seif
Martin de Knijff
Matt Matros
Maureen Feduniak
Mel Judah
Men Nguyen
Michael Mizrachi
Mike Matusow
Mimi Tran
Oklahoma Johnny Hale
Patrik Antonius
Paul Darden
Paul Magriel
Paul Maxfield
Paul Phillips
Perry Friedman
Peter Costa
Phil Gordon
Phil Hellmuth
Phil Ivey
Phil Laak
Ram Vaswani
Robert Varkonyi
Robert Williamson
Ron Rose
Ross Boatman
Russ Hamilton
Russell Rosenblum
Sam Grizzle
Sammy Farha
Scott Fischman
Scotty Nguyen
Stan Goldstein
Steve Dannenmann
Stu Ungar
T.J. Cloutier
Ted Forrest
Thomas Keller
Thor Hansen
Tiffany Michelle
Tim Phan
Todd Brunson
Tony D
Tony G
Tony Ma
Vanessa Rousso
Young Phan

Poker Personalities

Brandi Hawbaker
Mike Sexton
Norman Chad
Shana Hiatt
Vince Van Patten
Wild Bill Hickok

Business & Industry

Anurag Dikshit
Barry Shulman
Benny Binion
Calvin Ayre
Lyle Berman
Matt Savage
Ruth Parasol
Vikrant Bhargava

Poker Groups

Hendon Mob
Team Bodog
Team FullTilt
Team PartyPoker
Team PokerStars
The Crew

Online Players

Brian Townsend


Andy Beal
Ben Affleck
Cindy Margolis
Gabe Kaplan
James Woods
Jennifer Tilly
Jerry Buss
Mimi Rogers
Norm MacDonald
Shannon Elizabeth
Tobey Maguire
Wil Wheaton

Poker Authors

Andy Glazer
David Sklansky
James McManus
Lee Jones
Lou Krieger
Mike Caro
Rolf Slotboom
Tom McEvoy
Vince Burgio

WPT Amateurs

Harley Hall
James Tippin
Randy Jensen

Fictional Players

Cincinnati Kid
Mike McDermott