Jeff Madsen

Jeff Madsen is the third-youngest winner of a World Series of Poker event (and the youngest at the time) and the 2006 World Series of Poker player of the year.

Born in 1985 in Santa Monica, California, Madsen went to college at the University of California, Santa Barbara to study film theory. He started playing poker the summer before he went to college when his friend taught him how to play for fun. After going to college, he started playing at a small Indian casino where the minimum age to play is 18, three years before his WSOP victory. He also started playing a little online, playing limit hold’em then moving on to no limit hold’em and tournaments also.

At the 2006 WSOP Madsen borrowed money from his parents to enable himself to play in 6 events. His initial goal was to make the money back and cash in two events. He ended up making 4 final tables, winning 2 bracelets and winning the WSOP Player of the Year. He first finished 3rd in the $2,000 Omaha high-low split event, winning $97,552 after having the late chip lead. He then won the $2,000 No Limit Hold'em event for $660,948. At the age of 21 years and five weeks (barely old enough to legally play), the youngest WSOP winner in history and about six weeks younger than the previous record holder, Eric Froehlich, who won his first bracelet in 2005. This record got broken by Steve Billirakis, who was 21 years 11 days old, the following year. Later in 2007, Annette Obrestad broke that record with her win in the Main Event of the inaugural WSOP Europe on the day before her 19th birthday. Obrestad's record cannot be broken in the Las Vegas WSOP because Nevada's minimum gambling age is 21.

Just six days after his first bracelet, Madsen won his second bracelet, and $643,381, in the $5,000 no limit hold 'em shorthanded event. He came into the final table playing to win, even though he was short-stacked and in last place. He went heads-up against Erick Lindgren, who was trying to win his first bracelet, while the young Madsen was trying to win his second bracelet in a week.

A few days later he finished 3rd in the $1,000 Seven-card stud high low split event, earning $65,971. Madsen had finished in an unprecedented 3 top four finishes, in four different poker variants, in his first year playing at the WSOP.

In 2007 Madsen cashed in his first WPT event, finishing eighth at the Bay 101 Shooting Star Championship, winning $100,000.

On February 5, 2010 Madsen won the $3,500 No Limit Hold'em - Championship Event at the Borgata Winter Open 2010 in Atlantic City, NJ winning $625,006.

After his big 2006 showing, Madsen paid back his parents and planned on playing the tournament circuit and WPT events. He had one year left in college and had planned on going back but said that it’s would to be really tough to do now that he has so many opportunities. His biggest piece of advice to amateurs is to not be intimidated and play aggressively with no fear.

As of 2010, he has 2 WSOP bracelets, 12 WSOP cashes, and tournament winnings exceeding $3,100,000. His is a Full Tilt Poker sponsored pro.


Log in to post comments
or Register

Jeff Madsen

HPG ADMIN on February 27, 2013

Famous Players

Alan Goehring
Alex Brenes
Allen Cunningham
Amarillo Slim
Amir Vahedi
An Tran
Andy Black
Andy Bloch
Annie Duke
Antonio Esfandiari
Barbara Enright
Barny Boatman
Barry Greenstein
Berry Johnston
Bobby Baldwin
Brad Daugherty
Carlos Mortensen
Chad Brown
Chip Jett
Chip Reese
Chris "Jesus" Ferguson
Chris Bigler
Chris Karagulleyan
Chris Moneymaker
Christer Johansson
Clonie Gowen
Crandell Addington
Cyndi Violette
Dan Harrington
Daniel Negreanu
Dave "Devilfish" Ulliot
David Benyamine
David Chiu
David Colclough
David Grey
David Pham
David Plastik
David Williams
Dewey Tomko
Doyle Brunson
Dutch Boyd
Eric Brenes
Eric Froehlich
Erica Schoenberg
Erick Lindgren
Erik Seidel
Eskimo Clark
Evelyn Ng
Farzad Bonyadi
Garry Bush
Gavin Smith
Greg Raymer
Gus Hansen
Harry Demetriou
Hasan Habib
Hon Le
Howard Lederer
Hoyt Corkins
Huck Seed
Humberto Brenes
Isabelle Mercier
Jason Lester
JC Tran
Jeff Madsen
Jeff Shulman
Jennifer Harman
Jesper HougaardNEW
Joe Awada
Joe Bartholdi
Joe Beevers
Joe Cada
John Bonetti
John Cernuto
John D'Agostino
John Hennigan
John Juanda
John Myung
John Phan
Johnny Chan
Jose Rosenkrantz
Joseph Hachem
Josh Arieh
Juha Helppi
Julian Gardner
Kassem "Freddy" Deeb
Kathy Liebert
Kenna James
Kirill Gerasimov
Layne Flack
Lee Watkinson
Liz Lieu
Marcel Luske
Marco Traniello
Mark Seif
Martin de Knijff
Matt Matros
Maureen Feduniak
Mel Judah
Men Nguyen
Michael Mizrachi
Mike Matusow
Mimi Tran
Oklahoma Johnny Hale
Patrik Antonius
Paul Darden
Paul Magriel
Paul Maxfield
Paul Phillips
Perry Friedman
Peter Costa
Phil Gordon
Phil Hellmuth
Phil Ivey
Phil Laak
Ram Vaswani
Robert Varkonyi
Robert Williamson
Ron Rose
Ross Boatman
Russ Hamilton
Russell Rosenblum
Sam Grizzle
Sammy Farha
Scott Fischman
Scotty Nguyen
Stan Goldstein
Steve Dannenmann
Stu Ungar
T.J. Cloutier
Ted Forrest
Thomas Keller
Thor Hansen
Tiffany Michelle
Tim Phan
Todd Brunson
Tony D
Tony G
Tony Ma
Vanessa Rousso
Young Phan

Poker Personalities

Brandi Hawbaker
Mike Sexton
Norman Chad
Shana Hiatt
Vince Van Patten
Wild Bill Hickok

Business & Industry

Anurag Dikshit
Barry Shulman
Benny Binion
Calvin Ayre
Lyle Berman
Matt Savage
Ruth Parasol
Vikrant Bhargava

Poker Groups

Hendon Mob
Team Bodog
Team FullTilt
Team PartyPoker
Team PokerStars
The Crew

Online Players

Brian Townsend


Andy Beal
Ben Affleck
Cindy Margolis
Gabe Kaplan
James Woods
Jennifer Tilly
Jerry Buss
Mimi Rogers
Norm MacDonald
Shannon Elizabeth
Tobey Maguire
Wil Wheaton

Poker Authors

Andy Glazer
David Sklansky
James McManus
Lee Jones
Lou Krieger
Mike Caro
Rolf Slotboom
Tom McEvoy
Vince Burgio

WPT Amateurs

Harley Hall
James Tippin
Randy Jensen

Fictional Players

Cincinnati Kid
Mike McDermott