WSOP - Player of the Year


Starting in 2004, a Player of the Year (POY) award has been given to the player with the most points accumulated in all of the World Series events. Only open events (events in which all players can participate) count in the standings. This eliminates the Seniors, Ladies, and Casino Employee events.

Beginning in 2006, the Main Event and the $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. event had no effect on the outcome of the Player of the Year award. In 2008, the $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. event counted toward the Player of the Year award, but the Main Event did not. Since 2009, all open events, including the Main Event, count towards Player of the Year. Up until 2010, the Player of the Year standings were solely based upon performance at the WSOP events that were held in Las Vegas, but beginning in 2011 the standings started taking the WSOP Europe into account. The 2011 WSOP Player of the Year organized by Bluff Magazine used a different scoring system which took into account field sizes and buy-in amounts when calculating points earned.

Player of the Year Winners

Year Winner Bracelets Final Table Cashes WSOP Earnings
2011 Ben Lamb
2010 Frank Kassela
2009 Jeff Lisandro
2008 Erick Lindgren
2007 Tom Schneider
2006 Jeff Madsen
2005 Allen Cunningham
2004 Daniel Negreanu


Log in to post comments
or Register

Poker Events - WSOP Player of the Year

HPG ADMIN on March 5, 2013