Blackjack Hall of Fame


The Blackjack Hall of Fame honors the people who have made the greatest contributions to the game of blackjack. The Hall of Fame was launched in 2002 and is located in the Barona Casino in San Diego, California. The purpose of the Blackjack Hall of Fame is twofold: to honor people with exceptional accomplishments in the field, and to educate the public about the creativity and intelligence of great players whose achievements have not been recognized by the public.


In 2002, a diverse group of 21 people were nominated for entry into the Blackjack Hall of Fame and ultimately 7 members were inducted. Two more inductees were added in both 2004 and 2005 and 1 more in 2006. After 2006, the members of the Blackjack Hall of Fame themselves took on the responsibility of nominating candidates and agreed to inducting only one person per year (the 4 new members that were inducted in the Hall of Fame in 2007 were inducted as a group). The voting for the Blackjack Hall of Fame is carried out by professional players, who are looked at as the people best-suited to judge the accomplishments of the nominees.


Year Player Contribution
2002 Al Francesco One of the founders of the concept of blackjack teams
2002 Peter Griffin Author of The Theory of Blackjack
2002 Arnold Snyder Former professional player, editor of Blackjack Forum
2002 Edward O. Thorp Author of Beat the Dealer
2002 Ken Uston Professional player and author who popularized the concept of team play
2002 Stanford Wong Author and the person who popularized back-counting
2002 Tommy Hyland Manager of one of the longest-running blackjack teams
2004 Max Rubin Known for reporting about gambling, specifically maximizing casino comps
2004 Keith Taft Inventor who manufactured hidden computerized devices to help players
2005 Julian Braun Pioneering author who used computers to analyze blackjack statistics
2005 Lawrence Revere Author of Playing Blackjack as a Business and blackjack teacher
2006 James Grosjean Computer analyst, professional player, author of Beyond Counting
2007 John Chang Former manager of the MIT team and basis for Mickey Rosa's character in the movie "21"
2008 Roger Baldwin
Wilbert Cantey
Herbert Maisel
James McDermott
Known as "The Four Horsemen", published the first accurate basic strategy for Blackjack


Log in to post comments
or Register

Blackjack Info - Hall of Fame

HPG ADMIN on March 1, 2013